jump to navigation

Back after a while… March 21, 2010

Posted by espritnoir in 1.
trackback

Hmmm…Coming back to this space, feels like coming back to an old home you once stayed in, a really really long time ago. You know, maybe as a kid. It’s familiar, yet so strange at times. Ever felt like that when you go back to your childhood house? The floor, which was so much closer when you were a tiny kid, is suddenly so far away. And the windows which you could barely see out of standing on your toes, holding on to the window sill…you suddenly realise you’ve outgrown that window. But someplaces you never outgrow. You just come back home, and after a few minutes, getting adjusted to the settings, you’re back on solid ground. Well, i hope this is how this turns out like…

Hi to all those who are still around! Been a crazy (mostly, in a good way) last six odd months. Married life is good. We’ve had our ups (mostly) and downs ( a few), but it’s going great … loving every moment of it…And no, the missus is NOT holding a gun to my head, to get me to say that!

But, more on that later. I’ve been trying to get a hold on something for a while now, and well, here goes. This is a test run for something new. Hope it goes well…

Well, I do calligraphy…i’ve done it since i was i guess 12 years old or so, and realised that hey, i’ve got a decent enough handwriting. Since i was a kid, i loved art, i dabbled in water colours and oils for a bit, but then i realised colour (shouldn’t be a surprise) were not exactly what loved doing. Don’t get my wrong, i love colours, it’s just that as an art form, i never could control colours, the way a real artist can or should. In most cases, they just didn’t come out the way i want them to. So, for a while i focussed on pencil sketchings, and i was pretty decent at it. Soon i moved on to caricatures, and stuff, and had a great time sketching and doodling funny faces on paper napkins and notebook covers, etc. But, it never was anything serious. I never had the confidence to pursue it as a serious option in life. Then again, if i have to be brutally honest, i don’t think i ever had an innate talent or enough of a committment for it, to pursue something that which i really loved doing as a passion as a serious career option. So, i never became an artist. No regrets.

While all this was happening, i always knew one thing. I loved writing. In my family, almost everybody has a fairly decent hand. Growing up, my sister was always the one who got more compliments on her handwriting than I did. In fact, i imbibed her style into my handwriting, but still she was the one who got all the compliments. Soon, that began to annoy the life out of me. I mean, even today, i can gurantee that if she writes a line, i can write the same line, and even  she will not be able to tell the difference which line was hers and which one was mine. So, as a kid, i decided okay, enough is enough. I have to make my own mark somewhere, and so i started picked up calligraphy. The art of beautiful handwriting. And i’ve been doing it since i was in the 7th or 8th std or so. Like all other things, i used to do it in fits and starts. Tried it for a few months, till i was excited, then exams happened, so i tucked away my pens and forgot all about it for six months. Till the next time,  i got all excited about it…This went on for almost ten more years or so…

So, what changed. 2 years back, i was walking down the streets of London. I was supposed to meet a friend, in the evening, and i had landed there early from Bournemouth. I was just walking around, near Piccadilly Circus, when I saw a small boutique shop selling calligraphy supplies. I just stepped in to take a look, and before I knew it, i had purchased about almost 70 pounds worth of calligraphy dip pens and nibs. It was a huge purchase for me, not just moneterily,but also was i actually going to commit myself to doing this seriously? Soon after, i started calculating all the miscellaneous calligraphy supplies i had gathered over the years. The first calligraphy kit, my parents got me from the UK (Osmiroid, really good kit, unfortunately, no longer made by the original company), the Sheaffer kits i had collected back in India, the supplies i bought in the UK, and you know what, I realised, i’ve spent more than 7,500 Rs (That was 2 years ago. Since then, i’ve nearly doubled that amount) on what I considered nothing more than a passing fancy. Was that justified? Didn’t think so. I always hated mixing commerce with something that i loved doing, but for the first time, i realised i was just putting money into something, and getting nothing back in return. Forget getting something back in return, i wasn’t even doing justice to it. So, i started practicing in earnest. In the UK, i had the time. I decided calligraphy had become too expensive an investment to just remain a hobby.

Well, that was then and this is now. For the last two years, I’ve been having a blast, with the calligraphy stuff. Now, i’ve been investing more than ever into it, time and money. So, my wifey says to me, ‘Wow, you should get this stuff printed. You could actually do it as a professional artist’. I go, OKAY! WHAT IS SHE THINKING! I can’t be that good. I’m no artist. But she sounds convinced. So, i show my stuff to a friend from work, a wiz with cameras and an excellent amateur photographer. He goes, “Wow, that’s great. You should do something about it” and promptly asks me to do my first serious piece of artwork for himself. So, it took my ten days to do it, but i finally manage to do it and he loved it! And i loved the feeling of being an artist, even a really tiny, small one in a vast pool of talent out there.

So, i decide, what the heck. I think i will do it. I’ve never done any serious bit of calligraphy for anybody else, but for myself. Why not put my money where my mouth is, and ask people to see if i’m really any good at all? So, presenting for the first time ever, EspritNoir, part-time blogger, and now part-time Calligrapher…!

Take a look at some of the samples i’ve worked on recently, and let me have your opinion. If you think, they’re good, do let me know. If you think they’re just useless, do tell me. I don’t know what i’ve got here, but i want to find out…!

This first one, is the piece i did for my friend at work. He’s been a real help in the past few months, constantly egging me on to do new things and try out new ideas for my calligraphy. He has this put up in his daughter’s room, and i really liked his choice of words. It felt great to write this, not only cause it was my first time writing for somebody else, but also cause the words were so powerful, i actually had to think how i wanted the final result to look.

Where The Mind Is Without Fear...

This second one is a small poem, written by my wife’s very close friend, as a sort of a marriage gift, when our marriage was announced. We liked it so much, we decided to put it as a part of our wedding invite. The words are beautiful, and well, the words just wrote itself…

Wedding Card Insert

What do i hope to achieve with this, you may ask? It’s so much easier to work in photoshop and corel, and get the same printed in your favourite font, some may say. I agree, but then, what’s the fun in that! So, what do i want to do with this? I don’t know…as yet. But, if you do have a favourite piece of poetry you would like to gift somebody, as a framed artwork, or would like a set of bookmarks with quotes from your favourite authors written on them, or maybe even personalised visiting cards with your details done in calligraphy, do let me know. Maybe we can work something out…

This is EspritNoir, the calligrapher;) signing off for now…cheers…

Comments»

1. me. - March 24, 2010

way to go darling:)all the best.
your wifey:x

2. Satandit - March 26, 2010

~Amazing stuff Espirit !!! Just simplygreat stuff !!

Am glad you made the transistion from hobby to passion, and I bet it must feel great to do something with a full heart !!

I love the work, and I do wish you do very well with this. May I show this link to some of my friends, and see if they’d like some work done by you ?

Glad you’re back in this space…and congratulations once again on your marriage 🙂

espritnoir - March 29, 2010

Hey Wifey…
Thanks for all your support! 🙂

Hi Satandit…
Thanks for your feedback. Sure you can show them to your friends. If you’ve got a facebook account, just search for “Calligraphy by EspritNoir” on F/B as well…Got some more stuff up there, that i’ve done recently…cheers 🙂

Hope things are going good with u too…:)
Cheers


Leave a Reply

